Barkley on Horns

Discussion in 'Men’s Basketball' started by caryhorn, Mar 18, 2011.

1. caryhorn

caryhorn 5,000+ Posts

"Texas is playing and winning on talent only. They are not fundamentally sound."
    And Kenny Smith: "Neither team is taking good shots. They are taking quick shots, but not good shots."

Barkley's comments surprised me. I know the coaching leaves something to be desired, but that comment seemed harsh to me.

2. agssuk

agssuk 1,000+ Posts

Is he wrong?

3. topwater

topwater 100+ Posts

if "the coaching leaves something to be desired", tell us what that is [​IMG]

4. caryhorn

caryhorn 5,000+ Posts

"if "the coaching leaves something to be desired", tell us what that is"

I am no expert and my opinion is just that. A fan's opinion. But I do think the offensive coaching, scheming, lack of movement, spacing, and screening is sometimes a serious problem that leads to long periods of not scoring.

The problems may not be coaching problems, and may not be coachable. In fact, I could be wrong on all counts. But that is my opinion.

I think our defense is pretty darn good. And it seems fundamentally sound, unlike our offense.

5. topwater

topwater 100+ Posts

damnit, i was looking for an argument. i think your assessment is pretty good. some of it may not be coachable at times. for example, how much do you want to "coach" hamilton and j'covan when both can create? our D is pretty salty and a major focus for this team [​IMG]

6. ut1969

ut1969 250+ Posts

Banes is a great recruiter, good defensive coach, so so game day coach and horrible offensive coach.

7. longtex

longtex Guest

8. Bob in Houston

Bob in Houston 2,500+ Posts

Kenny Smith supported him, saying Texas was putting up bad shots, and they thought they weren't going inside enough. But they must have made a half-dozen layups. Hamilton's the leading scorer, and he made four of eight. Thompson made.... four of eight.