Benefit of AP classes

Discussion in 'Quackenbush's' started by pied2, Jan 23, 2008.

1. pied2

pied2 100+ Posts

Saw on the HS threead many people talk about having AP classes. I graduated in '89 and my school offered some, but I still really don't see the point.

What's the big deal about getting the college credit? If you can do well in the class I assume you can do well in the class in college which would more likely have more substance to offer.

Plus, unless you are in a tight financial situation, why do you want to hurry and get through college so quickly?

2. HornzUp

HornzUp < 25 Posts

1. you get the credits for a lot cheaper.
    2. when you are in something like chemical engineering where you need about 135 hours to graduate it takes a bit of a load off your semesters.
    3. free up your schedule for more classes like golf or something similar

3. RollingwoodHorn

RollingwoodHorn 500+ Posts

AP credit allowed me to change majors 5 times, take only 9 hours 4 different semesters, and still graduate in 4 years.

4. kangsta

kangsta 500+ Posts

They allowed me to finish in 3 and a half, taking 6 hours my last two semesters. I had to stretch it out to 3.5 in order to get season tickets for 05 and for my two Rose Bowl Tickets.

Plus you don't have to sit through all those terribly boring freshman year classes and listen to stupid questions

5. pied2

pied2 100+ Posts

Seems like getting done w/college earlier is more important to some than it was me.

Sometimes I wish I was on the 15 instead of the 5.5 year plan.

6. CleverNickname

CleverNickname 500+ Posts

I had a bunch of credits. Some of it I could take a A credit, which was a boon to my GPA. One advantage is that I took only 12 hours a semester and was pretty stress free. But more to the point, I was extremely prepared for the level of work and depth of reading. I took my AP classes seriously, and my first year at UT I absolutely killed curves. TAs basically asked me for the answers.

7. KC-97HORN