Big XII Fans - SEC Fans - Difference ?

Discussion in 'On The Field' started by DRAG69, Jan 8, 2009.

1. DRAG69

DRAG69 1,000+ Posts

Easy....

SEC fans that absolutely hate Florida with a passion are slobbering all over Tebow and the Gators right now hoping they win for the conference.

Big XII fans that hate OU hope they get absolutely drilled by Florida tonight and don't give a **** about Big XII versus the SEC.

Conference pride is lame and overrated and pretty much only exists in the SEC. No one else cares. Get over yourself.

Go Gators !

2. Aces_Full

Aces_Full 500+ Posts

I am a HS coach near the TX/La border, and we have several coaches here originally from La. There are all LSU homers and are all SEC jacking bigtime right now. Even after Alabama got their asses handed to them. Every other coach that roots for Texas is pulling for the Gators tonight too. F OU. And F all of the LSU bandwagon jumping, SEC jacking, fair weather Gator fans.

3. Bob in Houston

Bob in Houston 2,500+ Posts

There are some ACC fans who go in for the group thing. They don't seem to get as many chances to chant, though.

4. mr. sunshine

mr. sunshine 250+ Posts

I thought the conference pride thing seemed fairly cool, so I gave it a try for a season. No mas. There's absolutely no pay off.

5. TxnByBirth

TxnByBirth 1,000+ Posts

Not every fan shares that sentiment. Have a friend who is a UGA grad who's rooting with every fiber of her being for oklahoma.

Wanted me to root for ou as well. I told her to think of the team she hated most, multiply that by about a million billion and that's how much I hated ou and wanted them to get slaughtered. She wrote back, "that's Florida for me."

6. BrothaHorn

BrothaHorn 1,000+ Posts

Don't discount the Good Ole Boy syndrome and the fact that outside of Arkansas these teams have been together for quite some time..Actually AR fits right in w/ the stereotypes..

7. Knoxville-Horn

Knoxville-Horn 1,000+ Posts