Bill Powers

Discussion in 'West Mall' started by ShinerTX, May 11, 2012.

1. ShinerTX

ShinerTX 1,000+ Posts

The Houston Chronicle had a column this morning saying that Rick Perry is going to run off Bill Powers. I cannot tell you how mad this makes me. Anyone "in the know" on here?

2. Larry T. Spider

Larry T. Spider 1,000+ Posts

I have no inside knowledge of this issue. I do have knowledge that Rick perry is a grade A douche bag. Nothing that comes out on this story will surprise me.

3. Satchel

Satchel 2,500+ Posts

And conservatives have made him the longest serving governor in the history of Texas. You have only yourselves to blame.

4. Knoxville-Horn

Knoxville-Horn 1,000+ Posts

Rick Perry, Barack Obama, Nancy Pelosi, Harry Reid, John Boener, etc...

Remind me again why this country is going down a ********.

5. ShinerTX

ShinerTX 1,000+ Posts

Chancellor denies the rumors

Here's one article from the online Chronicle. I cannot find the opinion column I was referencing.

Bag, go spew your garbage someplace else unless you have something useful to contribute.

6. Mr. Deez

Mr. Deez Beer Prophet

7. SomeMildLanguage

SomeMildLanguage 500+ Posts

Basically, Paul Burka is the laziest "journalist" in Texas. The alleged firing was never going to happen. The whole thing is bogus. That being said, can anyone explain to me what Bill Powers has actually done or what he actually stands for that makes people want to rally around him?

To me, this whole trumped up kerfuffle is people wanting to defend UT against an Aggie. Great. That's a good impulse. But it's simpleminded and shows a lack of critical thinking. The sheer volume of gullibility from so many people believing this poorly-sourced, shoddy blog post from Burka is what galls me.

8. Satchel

Satchel 2,500+ Posts

Higher education in Texas needs to be shielded from the aggy governor, that's for damn sure.

9. IvanDiabloHorn

IvanDiabloHorn 1,000+ Posts