Delaying Kindergarten

Discussion in 'Quackenbush's' started by Rex Kramer, Feb 6, 2012.

1. Rex Kramer

Rex Kramer 1,000+ Posts

I have 2 kids and one on way. Oldest will be 4 in late June. I plan to send her to Kindergarten next fall (fall '13). I grew up in Austin Westlake. I live in Highland Park. "Redshirting" is rampant both places. I recall moving from Corpus Christi to Austin when I was in 6th grade. I remember thinking how much older everyone was at my new school. How a lot of boys had facial hair, and I had never seen boys with facial hair. And I had always been (and going forward, would be) one of the biggest in my class. But, I graduated as one of the youngest. College, same. While I am one person and by no means an expert, holding kids back is exactly what the term figuratively implies, and I agree completely with this article:

Redshirting

Recently there have been several mothers who look horrified at the thought of my wife sending our oldest (and soon to be here 3rd - due in late July / early August) to Kindergarten as soon as able. And unless my kids are way behind, I think the idea of holding your child back is horrifying.

2. NickDanger

NickDanger 2,500+ Posts

I was born at 11:59 on 8/31 in 1962 because my mother was already ready for me to go to school. I made a 1590 on the SAT and graduauted in the top 5 with my only efforts expended on shortcuts in both high school and law school classes and I am an *******. Age is irrelevant. I, too am astounded at the lemmings who use age to determine grade. People is the 40's used to skip entire grades. BUT then there is society. They don't really mind not being first, but being behind a much younger person really seems to chap their ***.

How much of maverickness are you willing to ask your kid to endure. I have my own opinion and you should have your own, but that is really the only question I can think of.

3. Bronco

Bronco 500+ Posts