Different Types of Cookware

Discussion in 'Horn Depot' started by georgecostanza, Feb 23, 2012.

1. georgecostanza

georgecostanza NBHorn7’s Protégé

My birthday is coming up soon, and both of my parents are hounding me about giving them a birthday list. Being a college student, I'm preparing to move into an apartment after I graduate. One of the things I have on my list of needs is a good set of pots, pans, etc.

I was wondering if anyone knew the differences between aluminum, stainless steal, anodized, and porcelain pots and pans. What are the pros and cons of each? Which products are more effective cooking tools?

Thanks in advance.

2. 14tokihorn

14tokihorn 1,000+ Posts

Aluminum-
    Lightweight, affordable excellent heat transfer. Will discolor w/ acidic foods, acids may even pit the smooth cooking surface (not good, unless you want molecular aluminum in your foods). So you wouldn't want to shove a pot full of, say, tomato sauce in the 'frig to store. AFAIK, most decent items will be non-stick anyway. The purists would probably say that stainless browns better than non-stick (ie: searing a steak).

anodized-
    AFAIK, this refers to aluminum; eliminates the drawbacks of [above]. Not sure, but I imagine that specific utensils would be preferred to avoid scratching.

Stainless
    Tough, poor heat transfer. Thickness of the skillets, pots, etc. is definitely an issue. Also 'clad' stainless cookware is great stuff (overcomes heat transfer problems).

porcelain-
    bakeware,I think, is the common use, because there is much less radiant heat transfer from the vessel itself, or is it more - check me on that.

A Lodge cast iron skillet would be a great item on your list. Maybe a 14 inch. Learn to take care of it.

And Happy Birthday.

3. 14tokihorn

14tokihorn 1,000+ Posts

4. Sangre Naranjada

Sangre Naranjada 10,000+ Posts

5. brntorng

brntorng 2,500+ Posts