Executive Order on Small Business Regulation

Discussion in 'West Mall' started by texas_ex2000, Jan 30, 2017.

1. texas_ex2000

texas_ex2000 2,500+ Posts

https://www.whitehouse.gov/the-pres...ive-order-reducing-regulation-and-controlling

Obviously, I think this good for the economy and small business. I'm not a lawyer, but I'm interpreting this as a direction/order to his agencies on how to interpret regulatory laws passed by Congress when executing their jobs. Laws as they come from Congress rarely ever have specifics, but does this EO have overreach into Congress' authority?

Are there any Admin Law lawyers here that can weigh in?

2. iatrogenic

iatrogenic 2,500+ Posts

I'll give it a shot. Regulations are enacted post legislation, and are added by various federal or state "departments" headed by unelected officials. For instance HHS promulgated most of the ACA regulations, the Departments of Insurance for each state issue insurance rulings and guidance in the form of regulations, etc. The regulations provide, ideally, the practical guidance of how to implement the laws passed.

In practice, the regulations become self serving edicts for the bureaucrats that enact them.

In economic terms, politicians and Judges make "categorical decisions/solutions/laws" instead of decisions based on incremental tradeoffs, and the regs define how to implement the laws.