Freddie - Courage Beyond the Game

Discussion in 'On The Field' started by HORN60, Dec 10, 2011.

1. HORN60

HORN60 100+ Posts

While at the Texas Sports Hall of Fame on Baylor day, I met Jim Dent, author of The Freddie Steinmark Story, Courage Beyond the Game, and bought the book. Bill Bradley shared the signing table with him.

This is just a short note to recommend the book, a complete and inspiring story about a remarkable young man we should all know and remember.

Hook em,

2. Hornia

Hornia 250+ Posts

I don't know if there is a more inspiring Longhorn story than that of Freddie Steinmark.

3. HornInLC

HornInLC 100+ Posts

I was a freshman at UT in '70 - Freddie's senior year. He served as a coach that year. I remember it well. What an inspiration he was. [​IMG]

4. UTDad

UTDad 100+ Posts

HORN60, I was at the book signing that morning, also. There were only 1 or 2 others there so I was able to chat with the two of them for about 15 minutes. I mentioned to Bradley that we had talked at a traffic light when he drove up beside me while I was on my bike when he was the DC at Baylor. I found out, as result that Dent rides as well. Dent seems like a great guy and I am looking forward to reading the rest of the book.

5. cochamps

cochamps 2,500+ Posts

6. topwater

topwater 100+ Posts

IIRC, "I Play to Win" was a book that came out shortly after Freddie died. i know i have the book somewhere. i remember crying a lot while reading it [​IMG]

7. Bill in Sinton

Bill in Sinton 5,000+ Posts

I have the book too topwater. It is great. I always wondered why they never made that movie about his life. I remember there was discussion about it but it never happened. Coach Royal once remarked that Freddie saved a td when he tackled the Arkansas receiver at the ten yard line even though it was called PI we intercepted the ball a few plays later. Ironically the player who intercepted the ball (Danny Lester) was to lose his life a few years later in a tragic accident.