Holiday House, and others

Discussion in 'Around Austin' started by J.R.69, Jun 8, 2007.

1. J.R.69

J.R.69 250+ Posts

I was in Austin briefly last weekend and made a quick pass by the (what used to be) Holiday House at 51st and Airport. It now houses a Fast Stop store. Are there still Holiday Houses in Austin? When I was a freshman at UT there was a Holiday House just south of 21st & Guadalupe, one on N. Lamar and one on Barton Spgs Rd. Are they all closed now? If so, that's a real shame, as their burgers were the best!

While I'm at it, anyone remember Hank's Grill around Guadalupe and 26th St? GREAT CFS, with burnt-orange gravy. How about the Plantation at 19th and Guadalupe?
    Casiraghi's? El Toro?

2. mishatx

mishatx 1,000+ Posts

I'm pretty sure they're all gone. The vegan-nazi landowner chased them out of their Terrytown location, and they tried to open a location in Westlake but it had all kinds of problems, and didn't last but a few months.

3. GakFoo

GakFoo 500+ Posts

holiday house es muerto

4. Idahorn2

Idahorn2 250+ Posts

Two Holiday House Bonanza burgers caused me to apply for admission. (sorta) The lasagna at Casiraghi's is the best I've ever had--here or in Italy. You are a kindred spirit, sir.

5. ScoPro

ScoPro 1,000+ Posts

RIP Holiday House. [​IMG]

Had my first #5 Flameburger at the one on Barton Springs Road over 45 years ago.

6. 1918Speedway

1918Speedway 250+ Posts

J.R.69, you are talkin' my generation. I'm still mad that all the Holiday Houses are gone. Hank's Grill was a Sunday night staple while I was a student, and El Toro was my favorite when I was a little kid.
    It just makes me sad to see so much of my Austin childhood continue to disappear.

7. TxStHorn

TxStHorn 1,000+ Posts

The first burger I ever remember eating as a child was Holiday House off Exposition. I always got excited going to the one on Barton Springs, because we'd get to see the alligator.