I just don't 'get' fraternity life

Discussion in 'Quackenbush's' started by BigWill, Apr 22, 2009.

1. BigWill

BigWill 2,500+ Posts

The Link

So this frat up at nebraska has weirdo initiation rituals that include throwing ice at pledges while they are playing leapfrog. that's the normal course of business, it seems.

why in the world would anybody tolerate that?

why in the world would anyone want to do that to another person?

2. HatDaddy

HatDaddy 1,000+ Posts

I thoroughly enjoyed my time in. Almost every groomsman i have in my December wedding is from my fraternity days and I graduated in '97.
    Yes, some of that type of hazing is ridiculous. I would have walked out as well on some of that stuff. Other parts of it do build bonds and relationships. Some of my best friends to this day are my pledge brothers. I'm godfather to 3 of their kids, we take vacations together, play golf, have dinner..

You won't ever get it if you didn't go through it. From the outside some of it looks stupid. From the inside, guys did some funny crap during those rituals that we still laugh at 17 years later.

3. Bevo's Buddy

Bevo's Buddy 500+ Posts

4. Nordberg

Nordberg 1,000+ Posts

I "got" it about 15 years ago. Now, probably not so much. Matter of fact, I wouldn't last one day as a plege today. "You want me to do what? Tell you what, how about you go f**k yourself instead."

5. YoLaDu

YoLaDu Guest

I "get it", but it is not (then nor would be now) for me.

6. CanaTigers

CanaTigers 2,500+ Posts

I had fun up until they wanted me to pay dues.

7. BigWill

BigWill 2,500+ Posts

norberg speaks for me as well...I cannot imagine doing some of the stupid ****...never mind the homoerotic **** that is often attached to this type of story.

8. Napoleon

Napoleon 2,500+ Posts

9. Bevo's Buddy

Bevo's Buddy 500+ Posts

10. Nordberg

Nordberg 1,000+ Posts