iPhone vs. iPhone competitors

Discussion in 'Horn Depot' started by numbereleven, Dec 3, 2007.

1. numbereleven

numbereleven 250+ Posts

So I farted around with my brother's iPhone, and thought it was pretty sweet. The monthly fee is reasonable, but the $399 sticker about knocked me over because I'll have to buy two.

Various people have told me that most of AT&T's competitors have great web-enabled phones hitting the market. I haven't seen one that looks fantastic, but I'm not a big techie so what do I know.

Here's what I'd like to be able to do:

1. Easily access and interact with my e-mail, Hornfans, etc. whenever I want to.

2. Watch video, like youtube or highlights on ESPN.com.

3. Obviously, use it as a phone.

Can anyone suggest some good phones? Links would be most helpful. Or if the iPhone is just the best bet, that's OK too. Thanks.

2. vy til i die

vy til i die 100+ Posts

currently on the iphone you can't watch video on sites like espn (flash?)

that said, safari on the iphone is spectacular.

3. TxArch

TxArch 250+ Posts

I'll answer your questions in order, according to what's available right now:

1. the iphone has email at the touch of a button. the graphical internet display is as close to a personal computer as any phone can be. hornfans actually loads faster on my iphone using EDGE (nevermind wi-fi) than on my pc.

2. iphone does not support java or flash. meaning, you cannot go to youtube.com or espn and watch their embedded videos. however, it does run a special version of youtube (H.264) straight from the home menu that most youtube videos are being converted to. this is the main drawback of the iphone.

3. the phone part is good, contacts organization and all that is good.