More on Religion

Discussion in 'Quackenbush's' started by utexas_61, Feb 11, 2008.

1. utexas_61

utexas_61 500+ Posts

Just curious: What is your religious background, and what do you believe/practice today?

I grew up in a fairly nonreligious home. The only times I can remember going to church when I was really young were for weddings and funerals. When I was in about 5th grade or so, my Mom decided she needed to start going to church, mainly cause we as a family were going through some down times. We were living in a very small town at the time (San Felipe), and she went to the United Methodist Church there by herself and liked it.

My Dad was a confirmed Catholic, but hadn't been to a Mass since he was like 18 or so, and she talked him into going to a service at the Methodist Church. He liked it, and we all started going there. We made about 90% of the Sunday's from around my 5th grade until I graduated high school. In that time I had become baptized and a confirmed Methodist. I never really dislike going to church (except when hungover, which was most weekends in high school), but still never really got anything out of it. Having a clinically depressed Pastor did not help with anything.

Anyway, after I left for The University, I did not step foot in a church for close to 4 years, nor did I even think about it. I grew fairly apathetic on my views on Christianity and religion in general.

Around my 4th year, I meet a girl. A devote Catholic coming from a very Catholic family. Even though my Dad grew up in the same kind of family, I didn't know dick about Catholicism, besides the beliefs in the Eucharist, they have a leader called the Pope, and priests get in trouble for molesting children.