North pole to melt this year?

Discussion in 'West Mall' started by hornpharmd, Jun 27, 2008.

1. hornpharmd

hornpharmd 5,000+ Posts

www.cnn.com/2008/WORLD/weather/06/27/north.pole.melting/index.html

I am not a scientist or geologist. I generally just go along with what the scientific community says or agrees upon. Thus I agree with evolution. I agree with global warming. I agree that life does not begin after fertilization.

So now I read this article. WTF?

MOP had me optimistic when I mentioned to him on his global cooling thread that the arctic ice was melting...or so I had heard. But he assured me it has all refrozen over this past year. Well now they are saying it is going to melt....all of it...WTF MOP?

2. cinchhorn

cinchhorn 100+ Posts

Another scientist with a prediction woo hoo! I predict that the world will end sometime in the future. Wonder if they will run my story? [​IMG]

3. Fried JJ Pickles

Fried JJ Pickles 1,000+ Posts

4. Sii

Sii 1,000+ Posts

[​IMG]
    Move along folks...there's nothing to see here.....

5. notreally

notreally 1,000+ Posts

count me as a "man made" global warming skeptic, but i would like to know the following if anyone happens to follow this intensely.

I know the NP is melting, but I also hear Antartica is growing. Does the gain at the SP come close to equaling the loss at the NP? If so, what type of impact would have have on climates (supposed) and things like ocean currents?

6. Hornius Emeritus

Hornius Emeritus 2,500+ Posts

7. RomaVicta

RomaVicta 5,000+ Posts

Those wacky scientists. I tell ya. Thank God we got the radio personalities and corporate-funded experts to set us straight!

8. Steel Shank

Steel Shank 1,000+ Posts

I sure am glad we have an ice maker in our refrigerator.

• Like Like x 1
  9. GT WT

GT WT 1,000+ Posts

10. Steinbeck

Steinbeck 250+ Posts

Doesn't matter what the evidence is when doubters' brains are still frozen in the stone age.

11. blueglasshorse

blueglasshorse 1,000+ Posts