Oh My Gosh I Am Really Stressed.

Discussion in 'Quackenbush's' started by TenaciousTgarden, Jan 18, 2008.

1. TenaciousTgarden

TenaciousTgarden 250+ Posts

So, after 6 years of graduate school, a year of hellish internship in Ohio, and a 200 page dissertation, I now have to take a licensing exam. This exam covers all areas of psychology. Thus far, it has cost me an arm, a leg, $1000, and a ****-ton of sanity in order to register to take the written exam (which will be in March). The oral exam will be in July.
    Yesterday, I received the study materials that I paid an additional $1000 for (I'm sharing it with two other poor souls). I took a "practice" exam to see what areas I need to focus on. I scored 46% on it. Yeah. I have a PhD in psychology, and I got a 46% on a practice psychology licensing exam. What exactly did I learn in the last 7 years?
    The study materials suggest studying 5 days a week for 3 months before the exam. I only have two months before the exam and haven't started. And I don't want to study 5 days a week. That whole full time job thing is getting in the way.
    So, there's my stress rant. Feel free to post commiseration, advice, and pity. [​IMG]

2. Jakes on Fifth

Jakes on Fifth 25+ Posts

That's good, would you like to expand on that?

You'll be alright, you'll figure out what the test is looking for and then drill it.

3. SomeMildLanguage

SomeMildLanguage 500+ Posts

Very interesting. How is your relationship with your mother?

4. tropheus

tropheus 1,000+ Posts

TT - I was headed that direction as a last semester undergrad in child dev and family studies. What you're going through (after years of study) is exactly why I decided on law school. Good luck, I feel your pain.

5. EuroHorn

EuroHorn 2,500+ Posts

Tell me what you see here:

[​IMG]

6. Damor

Damor 25+ Posts

Calm down.