Poisonous?

Discussion in 'Horn Depot' started by StonieClarksBelt, Mar 27, 2010.

1. StonieClarksBelt

StonieClarksBelt < 25 Posts

Found in my backyard. I'm not too good at identifying snakes. Is it a texas rat snake? I know the picture isn't great, but he slithered into a drainage hole in my retaining wall before i could get closer.

What kind of snake is this?

2. general35

general35 5,000+ Posts

it looks a lot like a texas rat snake or a botched water snake. both are non-venomous. the water snake is aggressive however and will act like a venomous snake. both are found near austin if you live there. im of course no expert though.

3. TxStHorn

TxStHorn 1,000+ Posts

I believe that all poisonous snakes in Texas, sans the coral snake, are pit vipers.

They can be identified, obviously, by the "pit" behind their nostrils. All other snakes should be non-venomous.

For the record, however, I am not a veterinarian or wildlife expert, and will expect to be corrected if this is inaccurate.

4. AustinTejasFan

AustinTejasFan 1,000+ Posts

"For the record, however, I am not a veterinarian or wildlife expert but I stayed at a Holiday Inn Express last night"

5. Bluepies

Bluepies Guest

I don't know what it is, but I would guess non-venomous just because it has a skinny head. Most venomous snakes have a wider, heart-shaped head to make room for the venom sacs. But that's not 100% and I wouldn't go try and pick it up.

6. l00p

l00p 10,000+ Posts

Stick Mamba. No doubt about it.

7. UT1986

UT1986 500+ Posts

StonieClark'sBelt,

It looks like a rat snake to me too, although the markings are hard to completely distinquish. How long was he? Rat snakes can grow pretty long. If he got pissed, flattened his head out hissed at you, it could be a hognose, but those don't usually get too long compared to a rat snake. If he's a rat snake that's a good thing for controling your rodent population [​IMG] He looks non-poisonous to me. Where do you live?

8. UT1986

UT1986 500+ Posts