Press hysteria

Discussion in 'West Mall' started by huisache, Feb 15, 2017.

1. huisache

huisache 2,500+ Posts

I detested both of the candidates for president and declined to vote for either.

What I am hearing now reminds me a lot of the hysteria about Watergate when I was a student at UT. There, we had a burglary committed by some nutcases working for Nixon's re election and the press stirred up a firestorm of constitutional dimensions. When the dust settled Nixon was guilty of a coverup and driven from office. A couple of reporters for the Washington Post won Pulitzer prizes and got rich on their dauntless skills, etc.

When the dust settled some more and decades later, the dauntless reporters turned out to be the conduits for Mark Feld, a high ranking FBI agent who was mad at Nixon because he was not appointed to head the agency when Hoover died. Look it up, it did not get a lot of attention when Feld died a few years ago but the two reporters have since admitted he was the famous "Deep Throat"

All they did was follow up on grand jury testimony that Feld leaked to them illegally.

It was a palace coup.

Now we have an incompetent know nothing president who trips over his own johnson at every turn and boy, is it selling papers and driving the cable "news" ratings.

For all I know, Trump is a masterful russian plant bent on destroying the republic as opposed to the bumbling, crass loud mouthed New Yorker I see. But I would like to suggest to all the folks who are hyperventilating over the latest "revelations" that they might want to step back, regain their breath and wait and see who is behind the veil before they start talking about impeachment.

• Like Like x 3
  2. Joe Fan

Joe Fan 10,000+ Posts

I far as I can tell, these are the purported "smoking guns" that so much airtime has been devoted to over the past 24 hours

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

3. Htown77

Htown77 5,000+ Posts