Rules Questions

Discussion in 'Baseball' started by Chop, Mar 30, 2022.

  1. Chop

    Chop 10,000+ Posts

    We've got a 2023 recruit, Jon Shields, who pitches both right handed and left handed. Can he change throwing hands during a given batters' at bat?

    Where does such a rare and exotic bird come from, you ask?
    Katy, of course...
     
  2. FWHORN

    FWHORN 5,000+ Posts

    I know for the majors the answer is no, you must declare before the batter which arm you will be throwing with and are stuck with choice for that batter. I suspect its the same for college.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  3. Sangre Naranjada

    Sangre Naranjada 10,000+ Posts

    What do you do with your glove when you change throwing hands? I doubt the rules would allow the pitcher to change equipment pitch by pitch, so my guess is the rules would mirror MLB's rules.
     
  4. Chop

    Chop 10,000+ Posts

    How about these new base stealing gloves? (just when you thought you’d seen everything). All the cool kids on the base pads are wearing them now.

    I wonder if there’s an issue if they start making them with real long extensions.
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
  5. Chop

    Chop 10,000+ Posts

    What made that balk today a balk?

    Was it the fact that Ivan wasn't covering on the bag / way away from the first base bag?

    It's at 4:02 in the highlights below:

     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2022
  6. FWHORN

    FWHORN 5,000+ Posts

    From announcers in the highlights, it sure sounded like it was because Ivan wasnt covering the base and therefore you cant fake a throw or throw over to someone not on the bag. Pierce went out right after and whatever the umps said convinced him because he didnt argue. In the stadium I had no idea and it was a topic of conversation in our section for a couple of batters because he clearly stepped off before throwing.
     
  7. mmsnake

    mmsnake 25+ Posts

    At first and third base you have to be making an attempt to retire the runner so baseman can’t be behind or in front of bag. Our first baseman was well in front of bag as there was a miscommunication between him and pitcher. 2nd base has different rule.
     
  8. Phil Elliott

    Phil Elliott 2,500+ Posts

    I never played beyond HS, but I don't ever remember us having any kind of signal that the pitcher was going to throw over, and I played 1st base. As the 1st baseman in that situation, you cannot leave to cover the bunt until you are sure the pitcher is going home with the ball.
     
  9. FWHORN

    FWHORN 5,000+ Posts

    This is Ivan's first year playing first base so makes you wonder of it was him or Lucas that got crossed up. Ivan has been more than serviceable at first this year and I think has made himself a lot of money by coming back and getting a years experience at that position.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  10. SabreHorn

    SabreHorn 10,000+ Posts

    Phil,

    It's been a long time, but playing & coaching, my teams had a pickoff sign by the catcher. Don't remember if the pitcher could go on his own or not, but I'm sure he could.

    Of course, if the runner crossed his legs leading off, go get him.
     
  11. Chop

    Chop 10,000+ Posts

    I personally think the balk rule is often enforced on some little ticky tack stuff. We benefited from it against UTRGV when the pitcher barely slightly flinched. C’mon.
     
  12. Chop

    Chop 10,000+ Posts

    Our guys like to be on-deck closer to home plate than the on-deck circle. In fact, sometimes we just move the circle closer. Opponents sometimes raise a stink about it, but the umps never do anything. Is there a rule about this?
     
  13. SabreHorn

    SabreHorn 10,000+ Posts

    If you don't like where on deck batter is standing, send a 90+ mph fastball at his head while he's in the circle.
     
    • Hot Hot x 1
  14. Chop

    Chop 10,000+ Posts

     
  15. SabreHorn

    SabreHorn 10,000+ Posts

    Nice, but nothing can replace Nolan beating the **** out of Robin Ventura.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 2
  16. Chop

    Chop 10,000+ Posts

  17. FWHORN

    FWHORN 5,000+ Posts

    Gene Stephenson at Wichita State had a pitcher do this and almost killed kid.

    The Ace Goes Wild Incident Still Haunts Wichita State

    The kid who was hit sued the pitcher and reportedly settled for a rumored 400k. It is literally assault by every legal definition.
     
  18. STHAustin

    STHAustin 100+ Posts

    I remember when this happened. If memory serves, at the time Stephenson was more concerned about losing his pitcher for the year than the kid who got hit. Let the umpire take care of it.
     
  19. Chop

    Chop 10,000+ Posts

    Can the batter glance back at the catcher right before the pitch, to see where he sets up (inside, outside, in the middle)?
     
  20. SabreHorn

    SabreHorn 10,000+ Posts

    NO
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  21. Chop

    Chop 10,000+ Posts

    Or some loud mouthed fan right behind home plate yelling "it's coming outside!" or "it's coming inside!" based on how the catcher sets up.
     
  22. Chop

    Chop 10,000+ Posts

    With the Astros "scandal", I thought the deal was this:

    1. It's ok to steal signals--everybody does it or tries to;
    2. But you can't use electronic means (Centerfield cameras) to steal the signals and radio them in to the dugout/batter.
     
  23. Chop

    Chop 10,000+ Posts

    If a head coach goes out of the dugout to argue a ball/strike call, he's ejected, right?

    What if he sends out a trainer, grad assistant, or some low level guy (or second team outfielder, etc.) to the plate to yell at the umpire over a ball/strike call. Only the guy who goes out of the dugout to argue the ball/strike call gets booted, right?
     
  24. SabreHorn

    SabreHorn 10,000+ Posts

    There are some games this year that Pierce probably wishes he had been thrown out of.
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  25. Chop

    Chop 10,000+ Posts

    When a major league batter charges the mound and hits the pitcher, he usually doesn’t get tossed from the game, right?

    And he certainly doesn’t get disqualified from the next game, does he?
     
  26. SabreHorn

    SabreHorn 10,000+ Posts

    Yes, yes maybe more than one game, and a huge fine

    And if your name is Robin Ventura, you get the crap beat out of you by a guy almost twice your age.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  27. Chop

    Chop 10,000+ Posts

    Infield fly rule. Somebody please explain. And how do you define infield for the purposes of this rule?
     
  28. FWHORN

    FWHORN 5,000+ Posts

    Exists to prevent teams from deliberately dropping a pop up in the infield to get a double play. That means must be less than two outs, must have runners on first and second at least or bases loaded and must be pop up that isnt to the outfield. Its that last part that can be subjective and several years ago in an MLB playoff game what seemed to be a fly out to outfield that dropped was called infield fly rule and it almost caused a riot. I want to say it involved the Braves.
     
    • Hot Hot x 1
    Last edited: May 29, 2022
  29. FWHORN

    FWHORN 5,000+ Posts

    Yes, it was Braves against Cardinals in playoffs.

     
  30. Chop

    Chop 10,000+ Posts

    That smells of bs all over. That ball was clearly in the outfield. The shallow outfield, but still the outfield. Heck the LF almost caught the ball.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1

Share This Page