Santa Fe ideas

Discussion in 'On The Road Again' started by Jive_Turkey, Sep 21, 2007.

1. Jive_Turkey

Jive_Turkey 1,000+ Posts

I'm going to Santa Fe next week for some R&R. Definitely playing golf at Black Mesa.

Any hiking, sight-seeing, and restaurant recommendations? This is my first time there. Thanks.

I'm staying at a friend's house, which is centrally located and will have a rental car, so I can drive around.

2. NickDanger

NickDanger 2,500+ Posts

Santa Fe tends to be pretty spendy on the restaurant thing, but here goes:

Geronimo
    The Shed (for lunch)
    The Compound (has a reasonable lunch special)
    Bistro 315 (I think the name has changed)
    The Inn at the Loretto
    Coyote Cafe
    SantaCafe
    The Shed has a related restaurant that is good south of downtown on Cerillos (Maybe Chollos?)
    La Fonda is decent.
    Pasquals
    The usually have good food and some music at a place on Canyon and Camino del Monte Sol.
    Bishop's Lodge
    Lots of people like the Pink Adobe. I don't, but it's a classic.

Hot tubs and massages at 10,000 waves. Go there early in your trip before you get the high altitude mexican food gas issues. You don't want to be supressing a fart while getting a massage.

Lot's of hiking trails up on the road to the ski mountain.

Flyfishing on the Pecos. Desert Anglers?

More art galleries than your artist wife can drag you to in 3 days (I know).

The Bull Ring has drinks and music.

There's a good breakfast place about halfway up Canyon on your left. It might be called Celebrations or something german (I know, a random description).

New Mexican food is nothing much like texmex. It's very good, but don't expect and enchilada to be rolled up. It will be flat and made out of blue corn. And pretty spicy. Posole is hominy around here.

3. Smoky Brisket

Smoky Brisket 100+ Posts