Slicing Brisket Question

Discussion in 'Rusty's Grill' started by Reborn_Horn, Oct 3, 2006.

1. Reborn_Horn

Reborn_Horn 100+ Posts

Ok, brisket novice here.....obviously, I'm an eater but never cooked one myself. Thinking about taking some of the advice from the more experienced posters and giving it a shot.

This weekend, I purchased a whole brisket from a fundraising organization. It was awesome....guy is a heavily decorated competitor in the Austin area. I can't argue with the results on Sunday. However, they forgot to slice the brisket for me.

Now, normally, I see people slice a huge chunk of 'fat' off the top and then start slicing. However, while standing there looking at the brisket, I couldn't determine where that 'line' of fat was or wasn't. Felt like I was throwing away too much.

Give me the goods people....what's the secret here?

[​IMG]

2. BigWill

BigWill 2,500+ Posts

I'm beginning to think it's time for an all-brisket board.

3. Brisketexan

Brisketexan 1,000+ Posts

You have two pieces, the flat and the point, that actually rest on top of each other. I set the brisket down so that the flat side (the shorter side) is on my right, and the point side (taller) is on my left. You then lay the knife down flat on the flat, with the blade pointed to your left. You slide the knife on the perpendicular along the flat, slicing into a ribbon of fat that runs between the two pieces. Your slice will angle slightly downward, following the ribbon of fat. By the end of your slice, the flat ends in a ramp sloping down to your left, and the point is separated.

I then trim all the big fat off -- there's a good amount on top of the flat, and there's a good amount on both sides of the point. Then, slice.

I found this guide and pics on a site:

4. Reborn_Horn

Reborn_Horn 100+ Posts

I'm all for an 'All Brisket' forum [​IMG]