Splitting real estate commission with an attorney

Discussion in 'Horn Depot' started by Iconoclast Texan, Aug 14, 2006.

1. Iconoclast Texan

Iconoclast Texan 250+ Posts

I am a licensed attorney and am in the maket to purchase a home. My wife and I saw one that we liked that is on the market. We do not have a real estate agent representing us. The seller of this new townhome does have a broker listed.

I told the broker today that we would like to make an offer on the house and I also informed him that I would be serving as our own broker in this transaction and would be entitled to a split in the commission which I would want to take as a credit at closing.

This guy responds in an email saying that it is against the law for them to split the commission with an unlicensed person. This led me to go to Westlaw and check out the Texas Transaction Guide where it clearly states that attorneys are exempt from the licensing requirements and that attorneys-at-law can receive a commission.

Anyway, I send this to him assuming that he would accept this at face value. Anyway he responds later with some bs saying his superior won't allow this.

What do you guys recommend that I do. It is clear that I can get a split of the commission and that he has a duty to present all bona fide offers to the seller/builder and it is not his call to make. I would rather not go nuclear yet and punk this guy. What do you guys suggest? Should I go ahead and print out a TREC form and submit it. What are some winning strategies here.

2. CleverNickname

CleverNickname 500+ Posts

Its possible that they are unsure of what to do because they split a title insurance kickback with RE agents, and aren'ts sure if you are on the down low. Please please please ask for a kickback from the title insurance people and record it. Everyone knows they do it, but its impossible to prove.

3. Mack Tripper

Mack Tripper 500+ Posts