Stuffed Jalapenos

Discussion in 'Rusty's Grill' started by Crockett, Jan 29, 2013.

1. Crockett

Crockett 5,000+ Posts

I've been working on my bacon-wrapped jalapenos for a few years and want to share what I've learned and seek some advice.

My basic recipe started with stuffing of pure cream cheese, but I quickly learned that at least for me, mixing in longhorn cheese made the mixture lighter and better tasting.

I simply cut the jalapenos in half, put in the half and half cream cheese/cheddar mixture and then wrapped with a slice of bacon held in place with a toothpick.

Then I ate some similar ones in a restaurant where the jalapenos were put back together and then wrapped tight with bacon, omitting the toothpick. The results were visually stunning, though the taste wasn't as good as the ones I make at home.

I started making the whole jalapenos wrapped in bacon, but they typically seem hotter, even though I pick out all the seeds. Maybe I just need to cook it longer? How can I consistenly find milder jalapenos? The folks in my family don't like 'em when they cause a little pain.

2. Michtex

Michtex 1,000+ Posts

3. georgecostanza

georgecostanza NBHorn7’s Protégé

I believe I've also heard somewhere that cooking them longer does actually cause them to be milder. I guess the acid cooks out or something.

4. Bye Week

Bye Week 250+ Posts