TX Footwear novice - boots

Discussion in 'Horn Depot' started by UWUTengineer, Nov 3, 2007.

1. UWUTengineer

UWUTengineer < 25 Posts

I'm relatively new to TX and UT so I've got a quick question about footwear in this area. When guys wear boots down here, are they the calf-high boots or the ankle-high "Chelsea" boots.

Any good stores or brands you'd suggest to one in this market?

2. TXHookem

TXHookem 1,000+ Posts

It's been my understanding that the proper nomenclature is "boots"

3. crackamacgowski

crackamacgowski 100+ Posts

I don't think I've ever worn boots in my life. Maybe when I was a kid. Maybe.

4. LobWedgePhil

LobWedgePhil 100+ Posts

If you wear ankle-high boots in Texas, you may as well shoot yourself, or move.

5. El Sapo

El Sapo Bevo's BFF

If would advise -strongly- against the Chelsea boots.

Cowboy boots can get very expensive very quickly. I have had remarkable success shopping the 'reject rack' at Shepplers (otherwise quality boots with minor cosmetic defects).The day after Thanksgiving is a gold mine.

6. NCAAFBALLROX

NCAAFBALLROX 1,000+ Posts

I probably wear cowboy boots (or @ least some variety of boots) about 350 days out of a year.

My 'normal' daily wear is a pair of Wolverine lacers (I like the ankle & arch support, plus it's got a large welt in the back & my spurs sit right on it quite nicely).

As for the cowboy boot style, the generic approved style is called a Roper (Justin is the more common brand) & it's not a full shaft boot; about 1/4 shorter.

Unless you want to look like an overweight redneck trucker or a '70's disco star, avoid the Fry's described /.

It's unfortunate, but the partial flat nose style is coming back in but I think it will be short lived. IMO, stick with a good black Roper; might cost you about $ 115.00 or less & eventually you might want to get a bit more adventurous.