UT Drum Major - more idiocy

Discussion in 'West Mall' started by Orangeyman, Aug 17, 2020.

1. Orangeyman

Orangeyman 100+ Posts

• poop poop x 1
  2. mchammer

mchammer 10,000+ Posts

“It’s not ultimately about the song, it’s about ingrained, institutionalized racism that frankly, in invisible form, takes the image of a school song,” Morales said. “Removing our alma mater is the first step to realizing the oppression that the Black students face on campus and off campus.”

Listen lady, as a graduate student I volunteered to mentor minority engineering students on campus in the mid-90’s. Don’t take this too personal, but you can go f**k yourself.

• Agree Agree x 11
    • Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 2
    • Hot Hot x 1
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2020
  3. theiioftx

theiioftx Sponsor Deputy

Not sure many fans will show up anyway. I am walking away from Longhorn Football until this group is gone. If more join, I will stay away forever.

• Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Phil Elliott

Phil Elliott 2,500+ Posts

She is attention-starved, just like most young people on social media.

• Agree Agree x 2
  5. Galvestonhorn

Galvestonhorn 250+ Posts

The last part of your statement Mchammer is very well put and you took the words right out of my mouth.

• Like Like x 1
  6. Orangeyman

Orangeyman 100+ Posts

Agreed 100%. And, the fact that black members of the band formed an organization for them to “feel safe” on campus. WTF? Are they actually attending UT? I must have been totally oblivious to the horrific climate they endure. Also, it would be fascinating to see the objective admission data for these members. As I recall, about 75% of band members were national merit semi- finalists.

7. Clean

Clean 5,000+ Posts

Since the Administration, not exactly a bunch of conservatives, has decided to keep "The Eyes", perhaps she should consider stepping down as Drum Major if it offends her so much.

• Agree Agree x 5
    • Like Like x 1
  8. LHABSOB