What happened to Smokemaster grills?

Discussion in 'Rusty's Grill' started by Travis50, May 30, 2008.

1. Travis50

Travis50 < 25 Posts

I am a newbie here so I apologize if this has been addressed.

I got a Smokemaster grill about 10 years ago and love it. I have referred a few friends to their company but now I look like a tool as their website is dead.

Anyone else have one of these?

2. NCAAFBALLROX

NCAAFBALLROX 1,000+ Posts

A tool? Yes, I have many. & Yes, some are also friends.

[​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

3. big_fat_horn

big_fat_horn 100+ Posts

I have a Smokemaster, and love it. They used to be sold locally at Callahans. I bought mine directly from the manufacturer. If you want something similar, look up the name of Dave Klose in Houston on the interweb. He if famous for his pits, and they are similar to Smokemasters.

4. UTEE

UTEE 1,000+ Posts

My father-in-law is actually THE Smokemaster of Smokemaster BBQ pits. And when I married his daughter, I was lucky enough to receive one as the dowry. [​IMG]

He sold the business about 5 or 6 years ago and, unfortunately, the buyer wasn't able to keep it going. Too bad, it was a really nice side-business for him, helped him put 3 kids through college. He had a great network of retailers all over the state like Callahan's and BBQs Galore, and as you mentioned he also sold direct. I used to help him haul those pits from his factory out in Lampasas to his warehouse in Liberty Hill, and then into Austin for deliveries and such.

I was sorry to see the business go, and even sorrier when the new owner wasn't able to keep it up.

Anyway, glad you still like your Smokemaster pit, he'll be glad to know there are still fans out there.

5. dahorns

dahorns 250+ Posts

very cool (smokin') story

6. Hornius Emeritus

Hornius Emeritus 2,500+ Posts

Makes me wonder why he doesn't restart the business, UTEE.

7. UTEE

UTEE 1,000+ Posts