Would you let your kids play football?

Discussion in 'Quackenbush's' started by LAktownhorn, Nov 25, 2009.

1. LAktownhorn

LAktownhorn 250+ Posts

i don't have kids yet, but after watching this vid, i really doubt i'd let them start this young. the video isn't that bad. but getting hit like that can't be good for kids.

the link

i played for one year in 7th grade. and i remember tackling a kid who outweighed me by 50 lbs. i remember it felt like i just ran into a brick wall and instantly feeling my brain hurt.

2. GHoward

GHoward 2,500+ Posts

Hell no. Not until middle school.

3. rickysrun

rickysrun 2,500+ Posts

No chance until 7th grade.

4. Longhorny630

Longhorny630 1,000+ Posts

I played in 4th, 5th, and 6th in a full pads/tackle league. Then 7th and 8th in middle school. I never weighed over 135 pounds until after I graduated high school, so, obviously small frame. Depends on my kids size, if he's my size, he's playing kicker. All the joy of watching your kid on the field, none of harm.

5. MaduroUTMB

MaduroUTMB 2,500+ Posts

I learned more from playing football than I did from the rest of high school. Getting the **** kicked out of you and coming back for more is a skill that's worth trading a few surplus neurons to gain.

6. CrazyFoo'

CrazyFoo' 250+ Posts

Seems like in this state, if you let your kids wait till the 7th, they won't have a chance to start.

7. l00p

l00p 10,000+ Posts

I started playing in 2nd grade. We really did not know what was going on but it was fun. My job was to tackle anybody that went past the line in a DB or S position. I would wander around, look to the sidelines and then when the play went down, look. If a guy busted through or made his way near us, we would run to him and either bounce off or tackle him. I think I enjoyed bouncing off as much as tackling.