Ewers, Worthy & Long Passes

Discussion in 'On The Field' started by dukesteer, Dec 31, 2022.

1. dukesteer

dukesteer 5,000+ Posts

This is something I’ve been pondering for a couple of months. Our inability to complete long passes is troubling and also somewhat inexplicable. I have come up with three possible reasons, and am interested in the opinion of others.

Worthy’s Hand-eye Coordination

In addition to his obvious inability to consistently catch the bottle, I believe that there is a hand/eye coordination / tracking issue. He is either not seeing the ball early enough and adjusting to it, or he hasn’t learned to adjust to the ball once it’s in the air. Actually catching the ball is obviously an huge issue, but there may be other reasons, as noted above.

While I haven’t gone back over the season carefully, from memory, I’m not sure that Worthy actually caught more than one long pass. Some believe that the end zone drop against Alabama was not a great pass. I would disagree. That ball seemed almost perfect, and it did not require that he dive for it.

Trajectory

This may be an odd take, but the more I think about it, the more I’m starting to wonder. Given how many throws Worthy didn’t adjust to – and may not have seen early enough, and given some of the long throws we saw that missed the target by yards not feet (example A: Cain), I’m starting to wonder if there is a trajectory issue with respect to Ewers’ long throws. Simply, are they so flat that the receivers are not picking them up early enough? I wouldn’t discount that possibility. While historically there have been many quarterbacks, famous ones, who threw low trajectory passes, most of those quarterbacks played in a different era, when offensive and defensive lineman weren’t as tall. Watching passes fall incomplete 5 yards from the receiver leads me to believe that there’s some other factor in play here, and ball trajectory might be one of them.

Inaccurate Throws