Texas-Notre Dame: The First Meeting

Thanksgiving Day, 1913

Our stories begin just over one hundred years ago, when a young university down south in Texas was positioning itself to be a factor on the landscape of the game colleges up north had been playing since 1869.

Texas was only in its twenty-first season in 1913, but the powerhouse that had first emerged in 1893 had been “feeling its oats” for most of that time. Since a loss to Oklahoma early in 1912, UT had rolled through a dozen straight opponents — not allowing more than a touchdown in four of its seven games in 1913, and shutting out the other three.

The stars were plentiful as well. In the early days of the forward pass, Notre Dame’s Gus Dorais had established himself as a legitimate aerial star, as had Texas’ Clyde Littlefield. Pete Edmond and Louis Jordan, two future World War I heroes who ranked as the greatest athletes in the early part of the 20th century, and stalwart “Pig” Dittmar anchored the Longhorn line. For the Irish, the team captain was the legendary Knute Rockne, who would go on to later become famous as the Notre Dame head coach.

More of the story by Bill Little at TexasSports.com.

Paul Simmonds being tackled in a 7-30 loss to Notre Dame on Thanksgiving Day, 1913 | The Portal to Texas History

1913 Victorious Trip To Texas Caps Landmark Campaign

WatchND YouTube

Orange & White Scrimmage

Texas Volleyball kicked off its season with a kids’ clinic and a scrimmage at Gregory Gym on Saturday

Also: No. 2 Volleyball preview: VERT Challenge at TexasSports.com. The Longhorns will open their season with Oregon and No. 1 Nebraska in Eugene, OR.

Texas Longhorns YouTube

Ken Hackemack’s Path to Glory

Former defensive tackle returns to UT to earn his degree

From TexasSports.com.

Texas Longhorns YouTube

Bevo in Rio

Longhorns in the 2016 Olympics

UT student-athletes earned 13 medals at the 2016 Olympics in Rio (10 gold, 1 silver, 2 bronze). More at TexasSports.com/rio.

@TexasSports Twitter