Gators, Horns still big with recruits

Discussion in 'Recruiting' started by TexasGolf, Dec 3, 2010.

1. TexasGolf

TexasGolf 2,500+ Posts

The Link

Love their attitudes......

"This is my dream. I grew up always wanting to play for UT," said Desmond Jackson, a four-star commitment from Houston (Texas) Westfield. "I remember getting my first letter from Texas when I was a sophomore and I started running around my house and screaming. When they offered me I was so excited and thrilled that I don't even know how to explain it. Like I said, this is my dream."

History shows the Longhorns and Gators will be players on the recruiting trail. Over the past five years, Texas has finished ranked second, third, 10th, third and third, while Florida has finished ranked first, fifth, fourth, second and first. Right now, the Longhorns are No. 1, while the Gators are No. 4.

Quandre Diggs (Angleton, Texas/Angelton) is the nation's top cornerback and he's headed to play for Texas despite the Longhorns' subpar season.

"It doesn't affect me at all," Diggs said. "I think in the long run it will make us better. You can't be on top all the time. That's how I look at things. Now, more than ever, I believe that I have an even better opportunity to come in and help out the team."

"Both Texas and Florida are great programs. But every team has a down year and it's that year for the Longhorns and Gators," said Josh Turner said, a Texas commit from Oklahoma City (Okla.) Millwood. "These teams have tradition and will always recruit well."

2. South Austin

South Austin 2,500+ Posts

Great attitudes. This season has sucked, but if there is anything to be gained out of it it's the realization by these future Longhorns that success won't be handed to them. They'll have to earn it with hard work.

[​IMG]

3. accuratehorn

accuratehorn 10,000+ Posts