NFL rule change: head first slide treated like feet first slide

Discussion in 'On The Field' started by Seattle Husker, Aug 4, 2018.

  1. Seattle Husker

    Seattle Husker 5,000+ Posts

    I hadn't seen this before. No more diving for the goal line or first down? R U Serious, NFL? This has catch rule ambiguity written all over it.

    Edit: This only applies to if you're "giving yourself up" to avoid contact.
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2018
  2. Statalyzer

    Statalyzer 10,000+ Posts

    Which won't ever be ambiguous at all if, say, a QB who isn't known as a runner happens to be near the line-to-gain after getting flushed out of the pocket and scrambling on 2nd and 7....

    Not to mention that they have always been wildly inconsistent on the "giving yourself up slides" as far as when the offensive player stops being allowed to gain yardage as well as how much leeway a defender has to stop on a dime when he's running full speed at a guy who slides at the last minute. So I doubt those will get any better - and now they will apply in a larger number of circumstances.
     

Share This Page