Poncho Ready?

Discussion in 'On The Field' started by Wideawake, Oct 20, 2015.

1. Wideawake

Wideawake 100+ Posts

It looks like rain is possible for the game on Saturday. It reminds me of the worst rain storm I've experienced in a game at the Missouri vs. Texas game in 1996. I got caught without a poncho and ended up drenched. The worst part was my wallet getting all wet.

What's the worst rain storm game you've been to?

2. mchammer

mchammer 10,000+ Posts

Uh? I was a student sitting behind 2 wet co-eds wearing white shirts. One of my better memories of the Mackovic years.

3. militaryhorn

militaryhorn Prediction Contest Manager

Story is not real without pictures.

4. VYFan

VYFan 2,500+ Posts

Wasn't it a Baylor game we had where the storm stopped the game for so long that when it restarted, hardly any fans were left?

5. TheWalkingHorn

TheWalkingHorn 500+ Posts

I remember an Iowa State game like that. I had horrible seats, and then after the rain I sat about 20 rows up on the 50 yard line. Air was cool and breezy.

6. FWHORN

FWHORN 10,000+ Posts

Missouri in 1996 and again in 2000 both had tremendous storms. In 1996 you could tell at halftime it was coming and in 2000 I remember being in north end zone and watching rain come from south like a wall. Iowa State in 2006 was delayed over an hour by storm and yes fourth quarter was played in front of a 2/3 empty stadium.

7. LAGA4

LAGA4 500+ Posts

I was at that 2000 Missouri game.

Had the future Mrs. LAGA4 with me. She stayed for the whole game and didn't complain, and that sealed the deal for me. We were married shortly after.

• Like Like x 1
  8. blonthang

blonthang 2,500+ Posts

Both Pancho AND Lefty are ready:

(I've always like Townes Van Zandt's [the author] version the best)

9. BevoJoe

BevoJoe 10,000+ Posts

1984 - IIRC, it rained for OU, Arkansas, and a couple of other games that year, not for just 2-3 minutes, it rained the whole game.

10. Olehornfan

Olehornfan 2,500+ Posts