Technology Thread

Discussion in 'Cactus Cafe' started by Dionysus, Jan 11, 2020.

1. Dionysus

Dionysus Idoit Admin

Let’s talk tech. Any cool new tech you are using now, or considering?

Tech issues/questions? That’s my gig — ask and I’ll help if I can.

I’ll start with a few things that I use and like.

1Password
    1password.com
    This is easily one of my most-used and most valuable apps on my computer and iPhone. I have many logins and passwords (who doesn’t?) and this app keeps them all handy in a secure encrypted database. It also has templates for credit card info, drivers license data, secure notes, software licenses, and documents. The mobile app keeps things synced with the desktop version. There are other apps like 1Password but this is the one I have been using since 2012 and it is really good.

Evernote
    evernote.com
    Another app that syncs between your computer and phone, Evernote is great for storing text notes, images, PDF docs, scanned files, stuff you want to grab from a web page, etc. You can create separate notebooks in the app to easily organize things and also apply tags to notes for quick recall. It’s like a big bucket where you store any info for later and quickly find it.

Asana
    asana.com
    Asana is a project/task management site. I have used it to collaborate with others on projects, where everyone can add tasks and notes, update status, etc. It’s free for individuals and small teams too, I think.

Notion
    notion.so